OCI 2020 Elections and New TOB Members

By February 12, 2020 Blog

This past year proved to be another exciting year for OCI – we funded an open source security audit for runc, approved a new OCI Artifacts project, and announced OCI distribution-spec v1.0.0-rc0, bringing us closer to v1.0.0 final.

We also held another round of TOB elections, with new members kicking off a two-year term on the OCI Technical Oversight Board (TOB). The TOB is comprised of independently elected individuals who provide oversight of the technical leadership and serve as a point of appeal. Newly elected individuals include:

  • Phil Estes (IBM) [TOB Chair]
  • Wei Fu (Alibaba)
  • Jon Johnson (Google)
  • Samuel Karp (AWS)
  • Steve Lasker (Microsoft)

These newest TOB members join the following existing members, who are each in the middle of two-year terms:

  • Vincent Batts (Red Hat)
  • Michael Crosby (Docker)
  • Aleksa Sarai (SUSE)
  • Derek McGowan (Docker)

We want to say a huge thank you to all of our outgoing TOB members – Taylor Brown, Stephen Day, and Mrunal Patel – for their commitment to OCI and its growing project community. We look forward to your continued collaboration on all things container standards!

As always, we welcome contributions and feedback from the community – our continued progress depends on the support and collaboration of many!

If you’re interested in contributing to OCI, please join the OCI developer community. For those who are building products on OCI technology, we recommend joining as a member and visiting https://github.com/opencontainers for more details about releases and specifications in development.